Wedding bells banner

Wedding Bells at Villa Limoncello
by Daisy James
Blog Tour

When Isabella Jenkins is unceremoniously fired from her fancy London job, she escapes to Tuscany. A few weeks hiding amongst rolling hills and grape vines at Villa Limoncello sounds exactly like the distraction she needs.
But Italy holds emotional memories for Izzy and with a hapless handyman, a matchmaking village matriarch and a gorgeous – if infuriating – local chef named Luca Castelotti, her quiet Italian get away turns into an unending cacophony of chaos.
Suddenly Izzie finds herself on a mission to pull off the wedding of the century and maybe get her life in order in the process. If only Luca’s gorgeous smile wasn’t such a powerful distraction…

In high places blog

In High Places by J.J. Holland - Blog Spotlight

Ever since the death of his wife, Lina, in a Kabul bombing, Aubrey Savage has been determined to fulfil his promise to her: to find out what happened to her brother, Jarrah, a disavowed MI5 agent who has been missing for two years.
An ex-SAS officer, Savage is used to noticing the small things. So when he offers a lift to a terrified runaway bride on the moors, he knows there's more to her story than meets the eye. But when she is snatched away immediately, leaving behind a holdall and a Glock that he recognises to be that of an MI5 agent, he is thrust into a deadly world of corruption, and a threat that's all too close to home...

Two or more authors

A book with two or more authors

A book with two or more authors is the next challenge in the 2019 Pink and Dizzy reading challenge.
It was actually tough to find these books as often when you look on Amazon it only gives you the one author and it is only when you do a little more research that you realise it is two people or it has been co-authored etc.
The books I have chosen below are a mixture of ones that I have read, am going to read and recommended by my husband. I had to turn to him for help with this post as a lot of his genre has books with two authors.

Book pink cover

A book with a pink cover

To read a book with a pink cover is the seventh reading challenge category. This was actually harder to find than I thought it would be. It was impossible to search through millions of books on Amazon to find a book with a pink cover, so I looked at images on Google. However, the problem with that is authors and publishers often change the cover as part of a relaunch or revamp. So I was finding books on Google with a pink cover that had completely changed when I looked for it on Amazon. This has unfortunately happened with the book I have chosen for this category. 'Perfect Ten by Jaqueline Ward' had a pink cover when I chose it in January, and it was that cover on Amazon, so I thought great that's my choice. However, now it is completely different. I'm not going to change which book I'm reading, though, I figure hey it was pink when I chose it, and I'd suggest you adopt this thought as otherwise, you'll constantly be chasing the pink covered book!

The house at greenacres

The House at Greenacres by Darcie Boleyn
Blog Tour

All roads lead home…
When Holly Dryden fled Penhallow Sands nearly a year ago she was determined to put the past – and Rich Turner – behind her. But now an unexpected loss and financial trouble has led her back to the family vineyard and it’s time to tell Rich the truth – he’s a father.
Surrounded by the memories of what they once shared Holly’s anger fades in the glow of Rich’s undeniable love for their son and the way he selflessly steps in to help the vineyard out of trouble. As Holly watches Rich flourish in his new role as father to baby Luke, she realises that though they can’t change the past, the future is still theirs to write…
An uplifting, emotional romance set in Cornwall perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Phillipa Ashley

Book from 2018

A book you meant to read in 2018

This is the sixth category for the Pink and Dizzy Reading Challenge, 'a book you meant to read in 2018 but ran out of time'.
I was so spoilt for choice for this category as so many of my favourite author's released books last year that I just didn't get a chance to read. There are also a ridiculous amount of books I came across being published but just didn't even get the opportunity to consider them, maybe this year I will?

Gamebooks

Why just read.. why not take part in a novel?

Are you a fan of Black Mirror? Did you enjoy Bandersnatch and then read in the media about the case over the term 'Choose your own adventure'?

This term refers to a craze that started in 1980's by Ian Livingstone and Steve Jackson with their Fighting Fantasy book 'The Warlock of Firetop mountain', a book where a single reader armed with dice and a pencil could go on an adventure to save a village from an evil warlock. It worked with a premis of number paragraphs.. i.e

Modern mrs darcy reading challenge 2019

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2019

I started reading challenges a couple of years ago when I came across The Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge online. It's usually just 12 books but pushes your reading limits. So alongside the Pink and Dizzy Challenge, I am also doing this one. Up until this month, I'd only read one of the twelve, so I hadn't gotten around to putting my list of chosen books on here yet, but as I read another this month I have kicked myself to get this written!

Forever ireland

Flirt Club's Forever Ireland Short Stories

I have recently discovered this group of writers that put together collaborations of short stories. Until last month I had only read Tracy Lorraine's books, but I thought I'd give some of the others a go when I stumbled across them on Booksprout. I only read a few of the Matchmaker series, but this time around I decided I would give them all a try!

History the past

A book about history or set in the past

I was inspired to add this category into the challenge after I'd read 'Wives of War by Soraya. M. Lane' last year. I really enjoyed going back in time and reading fiction based on real-life events. I knew I wanted to read 'The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris' at some point (although I have chosen this for a different category) and that many of the books on my scratch off bucket list poster were historical. So I was actually spoilt for choice, once again, for this category (isn't that always the way!).

Book made into movie

A book made into a movie you've seen

The next category in the 2019 Reading Challenge is a book made into a movie you’ve seen. When I was first choosing my book to read for this category, my mind went completely blank, and I couldn’t think of one! So I asked Morgan for his help, and he recommended ‘One Shot by Lee Childs’. This is the first Jack Reacher movie that was released in 2012. I then came to write this blog and realised I had such a plethora of choice, that I might change my mind on the book I read for this category! Watch this space!

Audiobooks

Audiobooks for the Reading Challenge

The third category in the reading challenge is to 'read' an audiobook. I must admit I’ve not listened to a lot of audiobooks. I think it’s because I like to be lost in the world of a book and not have it broadcasted outside for anyone to hear! You can’t keep reading until 2 am without either earphones or disturbing the rest of the house like you can with a good old book.

Favourite book all time

My Favourite Book of ALL Time

As I have mentioned a few times, my favourite book of ALL time is ‘Heaven by Virginia Andrews’. I’ve been trying to think about why this is my favourite book, and the only thing I can think of is because I have read it so many times I feel like I know the characters.

Winnie the pooh

Books Intended for Children

The first book of the 2019 Reading Challenge is a book intended for children. There have been a lot of books over time that were initially intended for children but that adults have enjoyed too. So, for this category, I felt spoilt for choice but settled on ‘Winnie The Pooh by A. A. Milne’. It's going to be so nice to settle down into a book that isn't too heavy and is meant for light reading.

You got this

2019 Reading Challenge Choices

I love going through a new Reading Challenge list and deciding what books to read. I get to go all researcher mode on it and do loads of internet searches. It's become a new Christmas tradition, and I've started to look forward to it each year! Now, I'm excited by my choices!

2018 closing thoughts

2018 Closing Thoughts

I’ve just been looking back over all the books I’ve read this year, and I’m so glad I decided to keep this record. Some of them feel like years ago since I read them, some I can’t remember what they were about, and others have really stuck with me throughout the year. Without this record, I wouldn’t be able to remember half of what I had read!

Christmas reads blog

The Perfect Christmas Read

I really enjoy snuggling up at this time of year with a good Christmas themed book. I much prefer reading a Christmas book to watching a Chrismas movie! However, this year I've been really struggling to find ones that carry you away to that magical place that only exists for a few weeks a year. I've read a couple of short ones that were ok, and they can be seen over on the 'book review' page of the site, but there was just something lacking from them all, and only one of the books I've read has made the cut for this blog.

2019 reading challenge header

2019 Pink and Dizzy Reading Challenge

I’ve been doing a reading challenge for a few years now, and I find it really pushes me to try new books that I wouldn’t have usually considered. I get very excited each year when a new challenge is released, and I get to sit and coordinate the books that I fancy reading. The organised side of me comes out, and I start making lists and doing research into the books I want to read, and it’s so much fun for a book geek like myself!

500 pages

A Book with more than 500 Pages

So I only have one book left to read of my original reading challenge that I started back in January. That is ‘a book that has more than 500 pages’. I originally choose ‘Outlander by Diana Gabaldon’, and it’s been sitting there on the challenge waiting for me to read all year. However, I’ve been putting it off and off, until I’ve come to December and have run out of time and had to start it this month or fail my challenge (not an option!)

Goodreads blog

Goodreads Choice Awards 2018

The winners of the Goodreads Choice Awards 2018 were announced this week. It was the 10th year these awards have run, and all of the winners are chosen by the readers on Goodreads. I must confess I haven’t heard of any of the winning books, and none of the books I voted for won. However, that means that I get to discover some new books this way as some of these look really interesting and different from my usual reads. So a couple of these have found themselves onto my TBR list ready for next year. What do you all think, are any of the winning books your choice or do you think another book has been unfairly overlooked?

  • 1
  • 2